But while Horford was booted for a Flagrant 2 foul, Howard was allowed to remain in the game after being called for a Flagrant 1. 

And here is Howard’s:

Part of the problem with determining which, if either, calls were correct is that the distinction between Flagrant 1 and Flagrant 2 is essentially a judgment call. The official definition of Flagrant 1 is unnecessary contact with an opponent, while Flagrant 2 is deemed unnecessary and excessive contact. This essentially boils down to the referee’s discretion on what contact was excessive and what contact was simply unnecessary.

You be the judge: Was Howard’s elbow less excessive than Horford’s? Or should he have been ejected as well?